Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide!

Go Back   Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! > Technical Forums > Slant Six Chat

Click here to search for Mopar cars and parts for sale.

Old 03-09-2013, 02:38 PM
Inactive User

Default pulling hair

its nice and sunny here in the dc area,thought iwould repace the intake/exhaust gasket on my 225/6 duster 1973. I do this for a living should only take a couple of hours right? how do you get the nut off under the right center intake stud you cant get a socket or wrench on it.do you remove the head to get at it and how do you reinstall all the washers and torque them right also this is all stock never been touched.do you try to seperate the two manifolds and is the OEM head gasket metal or comp type?I have worked on all engines but never a slant 6,thats hard to say for a mopar guy.If its small blocks I can do them blind folded. many thanks.
Old 03-09-2013, 03:06 PM
Inactive User

It's been a long time, 1973ish since I rebuilt a couple 225's. I'm positive the head gasket was composite that I used. They were Fel-Pro I am sure. There is no need to pull the head to work on the exhaust/intake manifolds. I don't remember the particulars but it's doable. I do remember it's not likely that you can reuse the studs. They are probably pretty rusted out. There is bound to be torque specs and info in the service manual. Do you have one? Probably just about all the years would be the same for the /6. If you can't find it I can dig out my manual and give you the info. If you need my help e-mail me at rlkinsley@yahoo.com Git 'er dun :-)
Old 03-09-2013, 04:06 PM
Inactive User

Default /6